Futures Light.

The stars in the night lit sky act as a calming shroud to my untamed soul as I pace back and forth measuring my travels by the white parking lot lines. Daylight is approaching and I can’t go far but home is too near, on these occasions I typically end up planted on my third story stairs just perched upon the stable edge dangling my worn out feet with nothing but my thoughts and this sweet soothing zephyr. I think of the past and present wondering how far I have actually come, while searching for the futures light. Then my eyes adjust, squinting ever so slightly and i think to myself “Here it comes now” as the moon slowly dips down low and the sun peaks over the evergreens i realize that all my yesterdays have come and gone and now and I am living where the sun will rise, right between the dark of the past and the futures light.

19 thoughts on “Futures Light.

  1. “and I am living where the sun will rise, right between the dark of the past and the future’s light.”

    Enjoyed. The above makes me believe we must be neighbors.

  2. Very nicely done. I love the imagery and the mood you set with this. Reminds me of many of my own days. Where is your follow button? I would like to follow your blog but I don’t do the RSS thingy. For now I will book mark your site and check when I can. Thanks again for sharing.

  3. So beautifully written and honestly stated, I feel like I spent the morning with you! Enjoy this journey we call life.

  4. You write so beautifully. I love your imagery, it is as if I am there sitting right next to you. Your battles have allowed the passion to grow within and your gift to develop Thank you for sharing that passion with us.

  5. I enjoyed how you kept the sentence long, it is more like a train of thoughts passing rather than a set of stilted statements. Very poetic! The line “I can’t go far but home is too near” still has me thinking!

Leave a Reply

