Raining Flowers and Tears

Your sweet postcards have left my way

But I can see you through the rain

Your travels were so far and broad

You left the lessons you had taught.

And whiskey lit my face up red

The day I heard that you were dead

 

The rain it follows me around

And I can feel it in the ground

Even when the sun is bright

It holds me, yes it holds me tight

And I don’t know about this life

When it gets hard, and I see strife

The rain still follows me around

Yes I can feel it in the ground

Every day and all around

 

The flowers that you always sent

I found them on my old doorstep

And when I got to old to care

My birthday flowers were still there

The note attached with lots of love

I was the one you were thinking of

 

Five days before my birthday came

My tears became the summer rain

We lowered you into the ground

With my birthday flowers all around

I let you go without regret

Knowing finally, you were at rest

 

But that rain now follows me around

And I can feel it in the ground

Even when the sun is bright

It holds me, Yes it holds me tight.

16 thoughts on “Raining Flowers and Tears

  1. I entered into this judgmental. I usually don’t like poems that rhyme, save for Dr. Seuss… and of course Shell Silverstein.
    Okay, most are good, but this…
    my breath shortened halfway through,
    eyes started burning a little bit after, and
    then just before I finished reading, the words were blurred with tears.

    A beautiful expression. Thank you…
    for the lesson.

Leave a Reply

